Back to News
BNL’s Tanner Tow tagged All-HHC first team
Tuesday, June 11, 2013

BNL’s Tow tagged All-HHC first team; Stars’ shortstop Ikerd Honorable Mention

June 11, 2013

BEDFORD — The All-Hoosier Hills Conference baseball team was recently announced and two Bedford North Lawrence players found their names listed amongst the HHC’s best.

BNL junior first baseman/pitcher Tanner Tow earned All-Conference honors, while senior shortstop Trey Ikerd was named honorable mention.

Stars’ coach Jerry Chaney said both young men were very deserving of the honors.

“The HHC is probably one of the toughest conferences in Indiana,” Chaney said. “We had three or four teams ranked in the Top 10 this year and to have Tanner make it as an All-HHC player is awesome and Trey as an honorable mention is great. They both played well and played hard.

“Tanner was so big for the team to be a first baseman and our best pitcher as well. So, in my mind it was a no-brainer for him to be All-HHC. And it was a big honor for Trey, who has been a four-year letterman.”

At the plate, Tow batted .333 for the Stars (12-16) with two home runs and 18 RBIs.

On the mound, the lefty hurler went 4-3 with an ERA of 3.73 and tallied 43 strikeouts and walked 18 in 58 1/3 innings.

“I want to thank coach Chaney for nominating me and for my family and friends supporting me along the way,” Tow said. “It’s always been a dream of mine to be named all-conference, and next year we’re going to get a sectional title.”

Tow feels confident that with BNL’s returning talent and experience the Stars are set to make a legitimate run at a Sectional 15 crown.

“We’ll have some deep pitching with Blaze (Byrer) and (Dylan) Ragsdale and more sophomores coming back,” Tow said. “We have a lot of experience coming back, too. Jake (Alvey) played a lot and Josh (Chaney) behind the plate and (Dillon) Hensley in centerfield. We’ll be pretty good.”

Ikerd led the team in quality at bats with 64, while hitting .307 for BNL. The standout shortstop has signed to play for Rhodes State College in Ohio next season.

Making up the rest of the All-HHC team were Jeffersonville’s Trent Astle, Drew Ellis and Mark Meyer, Floyd Central’s Kyle Sipes Connor Curry, Derek Despain and Trey Fulton, New Albany’s Garrett Sherrell and Tucker Marcum, Seymour’s Zack Brown and Tanner Belcher, Columbus East’s Dakota Glenn, Jennings County’s Caleb Eder and Madison’s Ryan Thurston.

Contact Times-Mail Sports Editor Sean Duncan at 277-7283 or